h1

New Chapter

16 May, 2008

Today was kind of a big day, kind of a sad day. My last day at Rockstar New England (formerly Mad Doc Software). I’m leaving to take a new job at Electronic Arts Vancouver. Yes, big news indeed. For those who knew me in Boston, farewell, and for my friends in Vancouver… I will be kicking you in the shins very soon!

So one chapter is ending, and a new one is beginning. I actually expected the last one to be longer. I didn’t come out to Boston thinking it would only be a year and a bit. It looked like such a good opportunity… an AI position at a company that specialized in AI. For a while, it was great, I was up to my eyeballs in AI problems, and loving it. But I haven’t touched anything AI related in almost 9 months, and there was a big fat nothing on the horizon either… so I had to ask myself, why am I still here? Clearly, it was time to move on.

A friend at work asked me yesterday, what was the one thing I would end up missing the most about the US? Truth is, there is no “thing” I will really miss. Not that I disliked the US… that wasn’t the case at all. Honestly, there are many more things here that are the same than are different. It’s nowhere near as foreign an experience as, say, living in Japan!

But I will miss the people. I had more fun with the people I worked with here than I’ve ever had anywhere else. I can think of times I laughed so hard my stomach ached. I will definitely miss those folks, and I should count myself extraordinarily fortunate if I have half as much fun at EA as I did at Mad Doc/Rockstar.

2 comments

  1. You’re coming back to Van? It seems like you only left such a short time ago. I hope its what you want and may I inject a little “yaaay!” David and I haven’t been doing any martial arts since you left, just lots of climbing. He’s finally done his Thesis and graduating on June 6th, and I just graduated about a month ago, so we’ve been pretty busy. Now that we’re just working though I can hardly wait to get back at it. Are you going to be instructing again? Let us know for sure. We’re headed to Europe on June 8th until Aug 2nd, but we’ll be in touch through email.

    Cheers,
    Jenn


  2. Yep, I’m coming back, and I’m pretty pleased about it too. = ]

    I will definitely resume teaching Hapkido. I’ll have some details to work out first (like a place to live), but you should be able to look forward to classes starting up in a month or two. Make sure Dave cuts his toenails!

    Congrats on graduating, school sucks and it’s great to see the back of it. Going to Europe sounds like a good way to celebrate. Have fun!

    Dan



Leave a comment