h1

More Snow! Yay!

2 March, 2008

It snowed again this weekend. The weather prediction was for a big dump of several inches (that’s lots and lots of centimetres) but in fact, it only lasted a few hours and didn’t amount to much. Still, it was great to get up in the morning and see the world turned white again, with big, fat flakes floating down.

I always like it when it snows. I’ve noticed that puts me at odds with most of the people around me. When the snow starts coming down, I hear people groan and complain about it. They hate driving in it, they hate walking in it, and I suspect that even aside from that, they’d still just hate it on principle. But when I look out the window and see lots of snow falling outside, my heart just leaps.

One of the things I was looking forward to, when I moved to Boston, was full-on, proper winters with lots of snow and cold weather. I have to say that I’ve been let down in that regard. Both last winter and this one, it has snowed now and then, sometimes some big dumps, but it doesn’t take very long to warm up again and melt away, so that all we’re left with are a few crusty, dirty snowbanks.

But there’s still time. It’s only the start of March… we could still get a serious blizzard before we’re done. So there’s your challenge, Old Man Winter. Is this really all you’ve got? Bring it on, I say. There’s still time to impress me. I want more than a metre of snow, I want it to fall steadily for at least 48 hours, and I want the temperature to stay well below freezing for more than a week. Can you do that? Do you still have it in ya? Bring it on, I say.

2 comments

  1. Hey Dan, Marta told me you had a blog. And thanks to my fabulous Internet stalking skills, here I am! If you’d like I can send you some Saskatchewan winterness…I’m pretty much fed up with it.

    Kate


  2. Kate! How’s it going? Welcome to my little insaniverse on the webz!



Leave a Reply

