h1

Anyone Lived in a Pretty How Town

11 October, 2007

Last week I had to take my car in to get a new alternator. Since I knew I’d have to wait around while the installed it, I brought my Nintendo DS along to keep me out of trouble.

So I’m sitting there, playing some Animal Crossing, and even though I made a point of turning the sound all the way down before I turned it on, I keep thinking I hear the distinctive sound of the game’s music. I check the volume, and bring the DS up to my ear… but no, the sound is definitely off. Yet I keep hearing the sounds and music, just faintly. Finally, I look up at the front counter, where the young woman who works there has her head down, working intently.

“Excuse me… are you playing Animal Crossing?”

And she was! Apparently she had just got the game a few days ago, and was just figuring it all out. So while I waited for my car to get fixed, she came and visited my town (Pawston), gathered some fruit, bought up all the stuff in Tom Nook’s store, and even got a new hairdo. It was all quite amusing, and it definitely helped pass the time until my car was all ready to go.

10 comments

  1. http://ve3d.ign.com/articles/news/34853/Empire-Earth-III-Making-Of-Movies
    Hey, I know that guy!
    😉


  2. Holy crow. I’d forgotten all about that… they shot that months ago. Looks like it turned out better than I expected, actually. I was feeling particularly inarticulate that day. Now try saying “particularly inarticulate” ten times fast!

    Cool to hear from you, Matt. How are things?


  3. I just saw that today too 🙂


  4. Heh, seems like EVERYBODY saw it before me. So, how was your summer at Relic, Agent Schmidt?


  5. Still going well, shipped Opposing Fronts in September, will be working till end of year here 🙂


  6. That’s awesome. They’re totally going to hire you for the long term, aren’t they? You deserve it. Give my regards to Brandi.


  7. Did you get a date, Dan? “Animal Crossing” (the phrase and image I mean) seems so rich for a “how-we-go-together” story…

    I am, of course, joking since I know you’re seeing someone else — but I was surprised no one asked the obvious question in your comments!

    Cheerio,

    Andrew


  8. Haha, no, I didn’t get a date. I got a new alternator. Thanks for trying to get me in trouble though! =D


  9. “New alternator” — is your “battery” being charged now?

    Trouble-ishly,

    Andrew


  10. You rogue!



Leave a Reply

