h1

There’s a city here. They call it “Boston.”

2 May, 2007

It may be hard to believe, since I’ve been here for three months now, but I’ve hardly explored Boston at all. What with all the chaos of moving, plus the crunch mode at work after that, I’ve really only made a few minor incursions into the heart of the city I now live in.

That’s all changing now! Vania is here visiting me, and I have a week off from work (crunch mode does have its perks), so we spent yesterday exploring downtown Boston. We walked the length of Boston common, checked out Beacon Hill, and had lunch on a patio on Newbury Street. We visited the Boston Public Library, and even descended upon the Lindt Chocolate Store. We did not leave empty-handed! = ]  In fact, it was a very worthwile stop, because back in Canada, my favourite chocolate (and I am a bit of a chocolate snob) was a particular Lindt Premium Dark bar, which I’ve never been able to find down here. Well, the knowledgable staff at the Lindt store were able to inform me that the same bar is sold here, but by a different name (Bittersweet) and in different packaging. So now I have Vania with me, and my favourite chocolate. =D

Tomorrow we’re going to check out Harvard. After that, I’ll be able to say, “I went to Harvard.” I’ll try to get some pictures too (I know I’ve been neglecting that) and get them linked up here for everyone. Later this week, we’re going to drive down to Nantucket, where I’m told they have a limerick bookstore, though for the life of me I can’t imagine why.

2 comments

  1. If you ever see the Dropkick Murphy’s are playing in your area, you HAVE to go just to experience that. They’ll be playing overseas all summer it sounds like, but keep your eyes open.


  2. You know, as a matter of fact I made a mental note before I left Vancouver, that I should try to catch a Dropkick Murphys show here.

    Then I forgot all about it. Thanks for reminding me. ; ]



Leave a Reply

