h1

It’s Time, Time, Time…

5 February, 2007

Over the past year or so, I’ve found that almost completely lost the ability to sleep in. I used to count on being able to make up for all the short sleeps during the week by having some long ones on the weekend. Somehow, gradually, that stopped working. Even though I’d be up till 2 or 3 on Friday night… when Saturday morning rolled around, bing! I’d wake up and look at the clock. 8:00 am. Fairly consistently. Sunday would be the same thing.

Usually I’d try to tough it out, make myself stay in bed. But I wouldn’t fall back to sleep, and by nine I’d be so bored I’d have to get up regardless. Very occasionally, if I’d really had a bunch of late nights, I’d be able to sleep till 11 or something, but not very often. Somehow, my internal clock has programmed itself that 8:00 is wakey-wakey time, and I just can’t shake it.

So I thought moving east would be a big bonus. I’d be three time zones earlier, so my internal clock would now be waking me at 11. How humane! I was really looking forward to it. I knew that eventually my inner clock might adjust, but for a while at least, I could look forward to sleeping the heck in on Saturday mornings.

I flew in on Saturday night, so I’d have one day to get organized and get the lay of the land before I had to start work. On Sunday I could sleep in, which would be especially nice after having a stressful week and a lot of late nights (I missed Wednesday night altogether).

You’ve already guessed what happened. I woke up, rolled over and looked at the clock. Eight o’clock. On the dot.

2 comments

  1. Wait until you’ve been east for a year or so, then try moving back.

    Going east is the Easy part. Moving west was a *lot* worse. It’s not the ‘getting up’ that’s hard. It’s the “staying awake past 6PM” that’s *really* hard.


  2. The only time I have trouble staying awake is at my desk at work. Getting to sleep anywhere else though, that’s the hard part.

    Maybe I should just keep moving east, and never move west. If I keep at it, I can eventually get back to Vancouver.

    Next stop: Iceland!



Leave a Reply

